Co-Operative Societies - Brief History In PNG

The Co-operative Societies Movement was introduced in Papua New Guinea in 1947, just after the World War by the Colonial (Australian) Government under a legislation called the Native Societies ordinaries which later became the Co-operative Societies Ordinance (1965).
Well over 500 Co-operative Societies were then set up around the country enabling people to plant cash crops, build retail stores of consumer necessities and obtain credit to finance activities of their respective Co-operative Societies.  These were vibrant business organizations which worked well and effectively serviced the rural areas in the 1950’s, 60’s and to some extent the 70’s.
The Co-operative Societies Ordinance (1965) was then re- pealed in 1975 by the then House of Assembly which showed the demise of the Co-operative Societies Movement in PNG.  Co-operatives operating at that time were either transformed into companies under the Companies Act, or Business Associations under the Business Groups Act.  Some Co-operatives are still in operation but may well be operating under other names or a different business structure. The Act governing the Co-operatives Societies was again re-enacted in 1981 leading to what is currently called the Co-operative Societies (Amended) Act, 1985.